Home » About Us » University Council

University Council



Appointed by the Minister of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology

  • Mr. Parks Tafa - Chairperson
  • Mrs. Mpho Mothibatsela – Deputy Chairperson.
  • Mr. Brian Jacques
  • Mr. Mathias Chakalisa
  • Mr. Edward Kemsley
  • Mr. Anthony Khama
  • Mr. John Mynhardt
  • Mr. John Rammekwa
  • Dr. Taufila Nyamadzabo
  • Mrs Shenaaz  El-Halabi
  • Dr. T. Mooko

Appointed by the Chancellor

  • Mrs. Masego Marobela

External (Non-Resident) Members

  • Prof. Norman Maphosa
  • Prof. Mbudzeni Sibara

Elected by Senate (Professor)

  • Prof. Bagele Chilisa

Elected by Senate (Dean of Faculty)

  • Prof. A. Chebanne

Elected by the Academic Staff

  • Mr. Taolo  Lucas

Elected by the Support Staff

  • Mr. Alexander Thabo  Yalala (Senior Support Staff)
  • Mrs. Chazha Kealeboga (Support Staff)

President SRC

Ex-Officio Members

  • Prof. David Norris (Vice Chancellor)
  • Prof. Martin Mokgwathi – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Student Affairs)
  • Prof. David Sebudubudu – Acting Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs)
  • Mr. Mendel Nlanda – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance and Administration)




Contact Details :
4775 Notwane Rd. Gaborone, Botswana Private Bag UB 0022. Tel: +(267) 355 0000 Gaborone, Botswana